Home      Log In      Contacts      FAQs      INSTICC Portal

Visa Information

Do I require a visa when travelling to Prague, Czech Republic?

All non-EU nationals require a long-term visa for the duration of intended stay in the Czech Republic for different reasons such as tourism, business, education, employment or residence. Transit passengers also require a visa for their stop in Prague (Praha).

The Czech Republic entered the European Union in May 2004. So the domestic visa policies have been coordinated to match EU policies. EU citizens can enter Czech Republic with valid passport, diplomatic passport or any ID. The citizens of Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein (members of European economical area) also require above documents to enter the Czech Republic.

The Czech Republic maintains a shared non-visa requirement or a one-way non-visa requirement with some countries. For further details, visit Ministry of Foreign Affairs.


List of countries whose nationals are exempt from visa requirement:

Visa is not required for short stays up to 90 days of non-profit nature. If the intention of stay is employment, Schengen (short-term) visa is required.


Nationals of following countries are exempted from the visa:

Andorra, Antigua And Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominica, East Timor, Grenada, Guatemala, Honduras, Israel, Japan, Kiribati, Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Monaco, Nauru, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Kitts And Nevis, Salvador, Samoa, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent And The Grenadines, San Marino, Seychelles, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Korea, Tonga, Trinidad And Tobago, Tuvalu, UAE, USA, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Vatican, Venezuela.

Nationals of countries who hold Schengen (short-term) visa.

Nationals of Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro and Serbia provided they have biometric passports.

Nationals of Serbia provided their passport is issued by the Special Coordination Directorate in Belgrade.

Nationals of Taiwan if their passport contains an identity card number.

Nationals of Hong Kong if they hold a "Hong Kong Special Administrative Region" passport.

Nationals of Macau if they hold a "Região Administrativa Especial de Macau" passport.


List of countries whose nationals required a visa:

Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, China, Comoros, Congo-Brazzaville, Congo, Democratic Republic, Cuba, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Dpr Korea, Ecuador, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Guyana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ivory Coast, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kosovo, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Mauritania, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Papua-New Guinea, Philippines, Qatar, Russia, Rwanda, Sao Tome And Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

British nationals who are not citizens of the UK of Great Britain and Northern Ireland in the sense of the Commonwealth law.


Airport Transit Visa

Airport transit visa is issued to people who are transiting through one of the Czech international airports if they are citizens/holders of travel documents of the following states:

Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Chad, Congo (DR), Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Ghana, India, Iran, Iraq, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Libya, Mali, Mauretania, Nigeria, Niger, Pakistan, Palestinian National Authority, Somalia, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Syria, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Yemen.


For more detailed information, please visit Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Czech Republic.


Important Information: The information available here is for general purpose only. Please contact your nearest embassy for accurate, up-to-date information.